Special Education

The Special Education department includes services and supports that provide a free and appropriate public education (FAPE) in the least restrictive environment (LRE) to eligible students. Targeted areas for services and supports include but are not limited to; accessible instructional materials, assistive technology, positive behavior supports, and transitions. These services focus on enhancing student achievement and post-secondary outcomes through implementation of regional and statewide activities for students and their families. In addition, the department will operate in compliance with the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

The Cherokee County School District’s Special Education curriculum is based on the local and state standards, as are core subjects, while using the integration of various teaching strategies. The concepts of these strategies are used to relate to students’ lives and future career choices.

Special Education Instructors:

Berryhill, Kelly Support Staff Paraprofessional kelly.berryhill@cherokeek12.net
Curtis, Niagel Support Staff Paraprofessional niagel.curtis@cherokeek12.net
Davenport, Tiffany Support Staff Paraprofessional tiffany.davenport@cherokeek12.net
Flaherty, Karri Support Staff Paraprofessional karri.flaherty@cherokeek12.net
Grillo, Karen Support Staff Speech karen.grillo@cherokeek12.net
Johnstone, Taylor Support Staff Paraprofessional taylor.johnstone@cherokeek12.net
Ross, Kimberly Support Staff Paraprofessional kimberly.ross@cherokeek12.net
White, Jennifer Support Staff Paraprofessional jennifer.white@cherokeek12.net
Britt, Mike Teacher Special Education mike.britt@cherokeek12.net
Cornelius, Logan Teacher Special Education logan.cornelius@cherokeek12.net
Densmore, Jane Teacher Special Education jane.densmore@cherokeek12.net
Galya, Caitlin Teacher Special Education caitlin.galya@cherokeek12.net
Hall, Amber Teacher Special Education amber.hall@cherokeek12.net
Haywood, Brandon Teacher Special Education brandon.haywood@cherokeek12.net
Hopkins, Terry Teacher Special Education Facilitator terry.hopkins@cherokeek12.net
Manus, Kim Teacher Special Education kim.manus@cherokeek12.net
Marinelli, Andrew Teacher Special Education andrew.marinelli@cherokeek12.net
Mullinax, Joseph Teacher Special Education joseph.mullinax@cherokeek12.net
Patterson, Jennifer Teacher Special Education jennifer.patterson@cherokeek12.net
Schultz, Andrew Teacher Special Education andrew.schultz@cherokeek12.net
Tucker, Lashonda Teacher Special Education lashonda.tucker@cherokeek12.net
Turner, Kally Teacher Special Education kally.turner@cherokeek12.net
Woodburn, Derek Teacher Special Education derek.woodburn@cherokeek12.net
Yeomans, Allison Teacher Special Education Allison.yeomans@cherokee.k12.ga.us