Social Studies

The Cherokee County School District Social Studies curriculum prepares students to become participating citizens of a democratic society in an increasingly interdependent world. Through social studies education students should acquire a continuing interest in their society; develop a respect for the dignity and worth of all persons; and achieve the depth of understanding and loyalty to democratic ideas and the skills necessary to accept responsibilities and rights of citizenships.

Three (3) units of credit are required in social studies: one unit in U.S. history, one unit in world history, one-half unit in government, and one-half unit in economics.

At River Ridge, most core courses are also offered at the honors and/or Advanced Placement levels for students who are willing to pursue the challenge of these rigorous courses. Numerous electives are offered through the department, all of which count as academic electives for the purposes of the HOPE scholarship.

______________________________________________

Courses Offered:

World History

United States History

Economics

American Government / Civics

World Geography

Psychology

Sociology

Social Studies Instructors:

Britt, Eric Teacher Social Studies eric.britt@cherokeek12.net
Clarkston, Joy Teacher Social Studies joy.clarkston@cherokeek12.net
Davis, Blake Teacher Social Studies blake.davis@cherokeek12.net
Farist, Ben Teacher Social Studies ben.farist@cherokeek12.net
Fraser, Samantha Teacher Social Studies samantha.fraser@cherokeek12.net
Kealhofer, Matthew Teacher Social Studies matthew.kealhofer@cherokeek12.net
Rice, Matthew Teacher Social Studies matthew.rice@cherokeek12.net
Sand, Ansley Teacher Social Studies ansley.sand@cherokeek12.net
Strassner, Terry Teacher Social Studies terry.strassner@cherokeek12.net
Taylor, Jason Teacher Social Studies jason.taylor@cherokeek12.net