Science

The Cherokee County Secondary Science curriculum reflects national science goals, the Georgia Department of Education’s Performance Standards and Cherokee County Student Performance Standards. The study of science in Cherokee County is approached from the fundamental view that science is a dynamic discipline. Technology, laboratory experiences, current science issues and real life problem-solving are an integral component of the science program.

For graduation, students shall earn at least four (4) units of credit in laboratory based science courses consisting of one unit of a physical science or physics, one unit of biology, one unit of either chemistry, earth science, environmental science or an AP course and one additional science unit. The fourth science unit may be used to meet both the science and elective requirements.

______________________________________________

Courses Offered:

Biology I

Physical Science

Environment Science

Physics I

Chemistry I

Zoology

Human Anatomy / Physiology

Forensic Science

Earth Systems

Astronomy

Science Instructors:

Akins, Chris Teacher Science chris.akins@cherokeek12.net
Bellini, Heather Teacher Science heather.bellini@cherokeek12.net
Beyer, Tracey Teacher Science Tracey.beyer@cherokeek12.net
Freeman, Katie Teacher Science katie.freeman@cherokeek12.net
Lathem, Gloria Teacher Science gloria.lathem@cherokeek12.net
Money, Phillip Teacher Science phillip.money@cherokeek12.net
Pinckard, Brett Teacher Science brett.pinckard@cherokeek12.net
Piper, Jamison Teacher Science jamison.piper@cherokeek12.net
Register, Trevor Teacher Science trevor.register@cherokeek12.net
Sawicki, Henley Teacher Science henley.sawicki@cherokeek12.net
Schumaker, Gregg Teacher Science gregg.schumaker@cherokeek12.net
Stier, Tricia Teacher Science tricia.stier@cherokeek12.net
Wilt, Jenna Teacher Science jenna.wilt@cherokeek12.net
Woszcynski, John Teacher Science john.woszcynski@cherokeek12.net
Zeller, Mary Teacher Science mary.zeller@cherokeek12.net