Foreign Language

The Cherokee County School District’s Foreign Language curriculum offers a variety of languages and levels for students to pursue their freshman year.  Students that attend a Cherokee County high school have an opportunity to begin foreign language study in Spanish I or French I prior to entering high school.  The longer the sequence of study, the more proficient in the language the student will become.  For students who enjoy languages, there are options to pursue more than one language.  Foreign Language has also been added as a Career Pathway.  Students who complete three or more years of the same language will be a Foreign Language Pathway Completer.

Students who attend a Georgia University System college are required to complete two years of the same language.  Three years of foreign language are recommended to students who plan to attend a research university.

In the global world we live in today, many more opportunities are afforded to those that speak additional languages.  You will find that employers in almost any field need employees that are able to communicate with a more culturally diverse clientele.  Pick a career!  You will most likely have a bilingual or multi-lingual speaker in the company.  Foreign Language is the gateway to our global world.

Teacher Email  Address
Jennifer Jones – Department Chair jennifer.jones@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Claire Bell claire.bell@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Kellie Brown kellie.brown@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Cassandra Connolly cassandra.connolly@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Rhys Coury rhys.coury@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Wendy Drought wendy.drought@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Gladys Galindez gladys.galindez@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Jay Huller jay.huller@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Roy Lange roy.lange@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Denise Manning denise.manning@cherokeek.k12.ga.us
Yazmin Marrone yazmin.marrone@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Jennifer Rasmussen jennifer.rasmussen@cherokee.k12.ga.us
Begona Stone begona.stone@cherokee.k12.ga.us