Eight CCSD High School Seniors Named 2017 Georgia Scholars!

Eight CCSD High School Seniors Named 2017 Georgia Scholars!

Photos of CCSD 2017 Georgia Scholars

Eight Cherokee County School District high school seniors have been named 2017 Georgia Scholars!

Through the Georgia Scholar program, the Georgia Department of Education identifies and honors high school seniors who have achieved excellence in all phases of school and community life including carrying “exemplary course loads” and excelling in all courses, successfully participating in inter-scholastic and extra-curricular activities. Only 183 graduating seniors from schools across Georgia will receive the honor, which includes a seal for his or her diploma.

The CCSD honorees are: from Creekview HS, Austin Griffin, Michelle McCord, Austin Miles, Jack Pace and Haleigh Streak; from River Ridge HS, Cecelia Fornuto; from Sequoyah HS, Daniel Gordon; and from Woodstock HS, Abbey Barrett.

“I offer my sincere congratulations to each of our 2017 Georgia Scholars,” State School Superintendent Richard Woods said. “These students have exemplary academic performance but they’ve also gained soft skills by taking on leadership roles within their schools and communities. I am confident we will hear great things about their accomplishments in the near future.”

Seven CCSD High School Seniors Named National Merit Scholarship Semi-Finalists

Seven Cherokee County School District high school seniors today were named 2017 National Merit Scholarship semi-finalists!

They are: of Creekview HS, Jack Pace; of River Ridge HS, Anabelle Paulino; of Sequoyah HS, Katie Bates and Alex Morrison; and of Woodstock HS, Alex Andon, A.J. Cox and Evan Vines.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation, which oversees the prestigious competition, has named 16,000 semi-finalists, who were selected based on outstanding 2015 PSAT scores.  Less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors are named semi-finalists.

To be considered as a finalist, the students next will submit a detailed application noting their academic achievements, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors; an endorsement and recommendation from a high school official; and an essay.  Students also must earn SAT scores that confirm their PSAT performance.

The anticipated 15,000 finalists will compete for 7,500 scholarships worth about $33 million, which will be awarded in the spring.


Alex Andon


Katie Bates


A.J. Cox


Alex Morrison


Jack Pace


Anabelle Paulino


Evan Vines