Clayton ES PE Teacher Wins Awards, Grant for Walking Program

Clayton ES PE Teacher Wins Awards, Grant for Walking Program

Category : CCSD

Clayton ES PE teacher Coach Anne Cross, left, is presented with the Walk in Circles Award by Patti Pittman, North Georgia Region School Outreach Coordinator for the Georgia Safe Routes to School Resource Center.

Clayton Elementary School’s PE teacher is a State award and grant winner!

PE teacher Coach Anne Cross recently won a first-place Fire Up Your Feet award and $1,500 grant and a Walk in Circles Award from the Safe Routes to School National Partnership and Georgia Safe Routes to School Resource Center.

Fire Up Your Feet is aimed at increasing physical activity before, during and after school, and provides resources and rewards to schools for outstanding programs. Clayton ES and Coach Cross also earned a runner-up Fire Up Your Feet award and $250 grant last fall.

Coach Cross earned the awards for her initiatives including the Get Yourself Moving (GYM) walking/jogging before-school and recess program. In addition to tracking their laps, students also measure their steps during the day, as they travel from class to class, to the cafeteria and other destinations… all of which adds a math component to their healthy practices. Sometimes, according to Coach Cross, students even choose to take “the long way” back to class to earn more steps.

“Our school is already very active, but most any physical challenge that I put before our student body is accepted and well-received,” Coach Cross said. “The students tell me that I am crazy for thinking that they can log as many miles as I challenge them to do, but so far they always meet the goals I set for them.”


31 CCSD Schools Named to Georgia’s SHAPE (Student Health and Physical Education) Honor Roll

Category : CCSD

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower participates in the lunchtime walking club at Sixes Elementary School – a Platinum-level honoree – with Coach Shona Roberts and students.

Thirty one Cherokee County School District schools have been named to the Governor’s SHAPE (Student Health and Physical Education) Honor Roll!

The recognition honors their commitment to the health and well-being of Georgia’s students through fitness and nutrition… an increase from 27 last school year!

The Honor Roll program recognizes and rewards the schools, students and teachers that demonstrate excellence on measures of SHAPE participation, data reporting, and student wellness. The Governor’s SHAPE initiative is a statewide program merging governmental, philanthropic and academic and
business communities to address childhood obesity.

Schools also receive prizes from the SHAPE program ranging from banners to sports equipment based on the medal level they achieved.

The 31 CCSD schools and their PE and Health teachers who made the recognition possible were recognized by the Cherokee County School Board and Superintendent of Schools at the Board’s Sept. 14 meeting:

PLATINUM (14 of 96 statewide)

Avery ES
Chance Cain, Jason Fitts

Ball Ground ES STEM Academy
Jennie Allen

Bascomb ES
Ed Koschewa, Nettie Mosteller and Barry Stafford

Boston ES
Rena Ehlers and Scott Lambert

Clark Creek ES STEM Academy
Chris Sears, Kaila Muecke and Michael Bergeron

Clayton ES
Anne Cross

Indian Knoll ES
Scott Barber and Jason Bermudez

Johnston ES
Michael L’Esperance and Josh Philpot

Knox ES
James Adams and Debbie Buckner

Liberty ES
Sherri Knox, Jose Lago and Rick Meyers

Little River ES
Laurie Hall, Reggie Kimball and Joshua Sams

Macedonia ES
J.J. Cantrell and Brooke Hopkins

Sixes ES
Casey LeMaire and Shona Roberts

Woodstock MS
Rusty Harrelson, Darren Clark, Josh Foster, Lynn Kavanaugh and Sam Young

GOLD (7 of 25 statewide)

Creekland MS
Ray Catlett, Keith Fountain, Julie McRae, Stacy Rich and Matt Rumble,

Dean Rusk MS
Jake Hester, Syretha Marble, Steve McGowan, Janet Roach, Paul Singer and Julie Swanson

E.T. Booth MS
Daniel Barkes, Amanda Candelario, Phil Dutko, Bill Elliott, Trip Holton, Deborah Krug, Mike Roga, Erin Schuler, and Leigh Anne Shaw

Freedom MS
Karen Baker, Steve Blackwell, Patty Bonk, Laura Dunlap and Brad DuVall

Holly Springs ES STEM Academy
Amanda Anderson and Sharon Peters

Mill Creek MS
Thomas Fountain, Jana Galloway, Eliot Gaylean, Matt Harrelson, Donna Ross and Dana Townsend

Teasley MS
Don Deaton, Paige English, Connie Gaddis and Brian Puckett

SILVER (9 of 55 statewide)

Arnold Mill ES
Pat Neder and Allyson Phillips

Canton ES STEM Academy
Katie Manley and Pam Davis

Etowah HS
Lindsey Alexander, Courtney Hatchett, Brandon Chester, Howie DeCristofaro, Rob Graner, Charles Higdon, Rodney Hunter, Chris Pack, Kim Robertson and Greg Robinson

Free Home ES
Keith Furstenberg

Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy
Clint Shaw and Griff Tatum

Hickory Flat ES
Corinne Ingram

Oak Grove ES Fine Arts Academy
Chris O’Cleary

River Ridge HS
Julie Winfield, Scott Bradley, Sarah Goodbread, Deb Lea and Barry Lakes

Woodstock ES
Stefanie Cunningham and Scott Fortes

BRONZE (1 of 16 statewide)

Woodstock HS
Jeff Brown, Brent Budde, Kingston Clark, Anita Dodd, Alex Gray, Jarred Hughes, Josh Pierce,
Mike Powell, Mallory Ranfos and Tom Sheehan