Congratulations to CCSD’s Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl Winners!

Congratulations to CCSD’s Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl Winners!

Congratulations to the winners of the Cherokee County School District’s 2017 Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl competition!

The first- and second-place teams will proceed to the regional level of literary competition on Feb. 4, 2017 in Gainesville on their quest to earn the State title.

Arnold Mill Elementary School won the elementary school bowl, with Macedonia Elementary School placing second.

Freedom Middle School placed first in the middle school competition, and Mill Creek Middle School earned second.

Creekview High School won the high school showdown, and Etowah High School came in second.

Celebrating their success are Arnold Mill ES team members, from left to right, front row: Ramses Rivas, Dellaina McCarty, Jack Cavender, Michael Wells, Charlie Tyson; second row: Deliah Stanley, Kathryn Lamboley; back row: Coaches Jane Morris, Jacquie Zaski and Assistant Principal Dr. Christy Bowling.


Celebrating their success are Freedom MS team members: Haley Cook, Kaylan Effner, Braden Flournoy, Ashley Lyen, Parker Kuczmanski, Maddie Schaeffer, Celan Trowers, Michelle Voyles, Rylan Waters and Milan Yadav.  Coaches are teachers Allison Cook and Amber Effner.

Showing off their first-place awards are Creekview HS team members, from left to right, Gillian Brown, Grace Godwin, Emily McGhee, Tori Padgett, Kelsey Henson, Megan Halverson, Alex Kaye, Caitlin Canfield, Hannah Oliver and Alyssa Auten; and coaches media specialist Anne Thiers, far left, and teacher Liana Howard, far right.  Not pictured: Caitlyn Bergey, Thomas Roberts and Anika Duff.