District PTA Recognizes Outstanding Principal, Nurse and PTA Units

District PTA Recognizes Outstanding Principal, Nurse and PTA Units

Tags : |

Category : CCSD

Acting 13th District Director Amanda Weber, District Outstanding Principal Mark Smith of Woodstock HS, and Cherokee County Council of PTA Chair Kathy Strom.

Cherokee County School PTAs, volunteers, support staff and administrators won multiple awards at the recent District PTA annual Spring Conference held April 26 in Canton. Woodstock HS Principal Mark Smith was named Outstanding Principal for District 13, and Mill Creek MS Nurse Thania Molina was recognized as Outstanding School Nurse for District 13. Georgia PTA is comprised of 13 geographic districts; the 13th District covers northwest Georgia and includes Cherokee County, as well as Forsyth, Gordon and Whitfield counties.

At the Cherokee County Council of PTA level, Johnston ES Principal Amy Graham was selected as Outstanding Elementary School Principal, and Mill Creek MS Principal Dr. Kerry Martin was honored as the Outstanding Middle School Principal.

Model PTA awards were presented to Little River ES, Bascomb ES, Hickory Flat ES, Indian Knoll ES, Mill Creek MS and Woodstock HS. These schools, plus the addition of Mountain Road ES, were also named Outstanding Local Units for 2016-17.

Other District 13 award recipients included:

Visionary Award (tie)

  • Sue Palermo, FD Johnston ES
  • Scott Steinbrenner, Little River ES

Birney Butler Outstanding Educator

  • Reginald Kimball, Little River ES

Outstanding School Nurse

  • Thania Molina, Mill Creek MS

Outstanding Principal

  • Mr. Mark Smith, Woodstock HS

Best Ideas Awards

  • FD Johnston Joke Book

Model PTA Awards

Elementary Schools

  • Little River ES
  • Bascomb ES
  • Hickory Flat ES
  • Indian Knoll ES

Middle Schools

  • Mill Creek Middle School PTSA

High Schools

  • Woodstock High School PTSA

Outstanding Local Unit – 750 and below

  • 3rd place –Hickory Flat
  • 2nd place – Mountain Road
  • 1st place – FD Johnston

Outstanding Local Unit – 751 and above

  • 3rd place – Indian Knoll
  • 2nd place – Bascomb
  • 1st place – Little River

Outstanding Local Unit – Middle School

  • 1st place – Mill Creek MS PTSA

Outstanding Local Unit – High School

  • 1st place – Woodstock HS PTSA

Hearst Family School Partnership Awards

For Standard 1: Communicating Effectively

  • Bascomb ES

For Standard 5: Sharing Power

  • Mill Creek MS

For Standard 6: Collaborating with the Community

  • Little River ES


For Overall – all 6 standards

  • Mill Creek MS


District 13 Scholarship Awards ($200 each)

  • Jasem Amer, Bascomb ES
  • Tate Suders, Bascomb ES
  • Emlyn Bailey, Clayton ES
  • Gavin Coleman, Bascomb ES
  • Alexandra Hofstetter, 12th grade Cherokee HS
  • Maritza Augustin, Matt ES
  • Christian Mores, ET Booth MS