Science Department

Corson Mark Email
Hammont Carol Email
Hutto Jeffrey Email
Tietz Stefanie Email

The Cherokee County Secondary Science curriculum reflects national science goals, the Georgia Department of Education’s Performance Standards and Cherokee County Student Performance Standards. The study of science in Cherokee County is approached from the fundamental view that science is a dynamic discipline.   Technology, laboratory experiences, current science issues and real life problem-solving are an integral component of the science program.

For graduation, students shall earn at least four (4) units of credit in laboratory based science courses consisting of one (1) unit of a Physical Science or Physics, one (1) unit of Biology, one (1) unit of either Chemistry, Earth Science, Environmental Science and one (1) additional science unit. The fourth science unit may be used to meet both the science and elective requirements.

In order to qualify for the HOPE Scholarship, four (4) courses must comply with the Hope Scholarship Rigor Requirements. Science courses that met the high rigor standard for the HOPE Scholarship and are taught at ACE Academy include; Chemistry, Physics and Human Anatomy Physiology. More information about the HOPE and other career training is available at www.Gacollege411.

Science Courses offered at ACE Academy:

Physical science




Human Anatomy Physiology


Earth Science

Environmental Science